UK Cypriot Nesil Caliskan becomes the first LGA Labour group’s first female leader as well as its first BME leader.

New Labour group leader elected unopposed

Nesil Caliskan (Lab), the leader of Enfield LBC, became the next leader of the LGA Labour group today.

Cllr Caliskan announced she was standing last week was elected unopposed after nobody else put themselves forward by today’s deadline .

She is the LGA Labour group’s first female leader as well as its first BME leader.

On Twitter Cllr Caliskan said: “I’m delighted to be elected as Labour LGA Leader. And I’m incredibly proud to represent Labour councillors who are not only standing up and delivering for our communities day in day out, but they’re also on the frontline campaigning for the Labour party.”

In a statement she added: “It’s a huge privilege to be trusted to serve in the national role as the leader of LGA Leader, representing Labour in local government. I look forward to working so that Labour continues to build on the outstanding gains in the recent local elections, showcasing the great work of Labour councillors across the country.

“Labour councils are the best examples of Labour in power. I want to make sure they are ready to work with the next Labour government led by Keir Starmer to deliver positive change for communities across the country.”

Cllr Caliskan became Enfield leader in 2018 when she was 29, making her the youngest female council leader in the country. She had been a councillor for just three years and was the first person of Turkish Cypriot heritage to become a council leader.

Cllr Caliskan was named by LGC in November as ‘one to watch’ for the future. She is currently chair of the LGA’s safer and stronger communities board, and is London Councils’ executive member for health, wellbeing and adult care.

The LGA Labour group also announced that Michael Payne (Lab), deputy leader of Gedling BC and councillor at Nottinghamshire CC, and Bev Craig (Lab), leader of Manchester City Council have been elected as deputy leaders.

Meanwhile, Antoinette Bramble (Lab), Hackney LBC, becomes chair, with Susan Hinchcliffe (Lab), leader of Bradford MDC, as vice chair. Amanda Sergeant, deputy leader of Chesterfield BC, is the new whip, with Vince Maple, Medway, as deputy whip.

Picture of Michael Yiakoumi

Michael Yiakoumi

Leave a Replay

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit